Global Health Film Classics series | Global Health Film

We are delighted to present Global Health Film Classics, a free online series drawn from the 200+ films we have featured since we started out in 2012. The series will run from end June to end November 2020.

Every week, usually Sunday evening (UK time), we will live stream a film followed by a panel discussion with filmmakers and global health experts from all over the world; after the screening event, we will send participants a digital resource pack with links to additional relevant reading and viewing.

Access to the series and to individual screenings will be free of charge, but we hope you will consider making a donation at each screening to cover our costs.

Series trailer

Recorded message from Ban Ki-moon

On 20 June 2020, World Refugee Day, former United Nations Secretary-General and Deputy-Chair of The Elders, Ban Ki-moon, opened the Global Health Film Classics series with a special recorded message. In his address Ban Ki-moon highlighted the challenges of people who have been forcibly displaced around the world, in particular the Rohingya people whose plight is the subject of the film Shanti Khana.

Ban Ki-moon was the eighth Secretary-General of the United Nations and, before becoming Secretary-General, he was a career diplomat in South Korea’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and in the United Nations. Ban Ki-moon is Deputy Chair of The Elders, an independent group of global leaders founded by Nelson Mandela in 2007, who work together for peace, justice and human rights.

Schedule

Saturday 20 June Shanti Khana

Sunday 28 June Survivors

Sunday 05 July The Islands and the Whales

Sunday 12 July My Amazing Brain: Richard's War

Sunday 19 July Unseen Enemy

Sunday 26 July I Am Breathing

Sunday 02 August Magic Medicine

Sunday 16 August The Divide

Sunday 23 August Ambulance

Sunday 30 August UK Summer Bank Holiday weekend: no screening this week

Sunday 06 September Steve

Sunday 13 September The Dirty War on the NHS

Sunday 20 September How to Survive a Plague (UK only)

Sunday 27 September A Quiet Inquisition

Sunday 04 October Eating Animals

Sunday 11 October Thank You For The Rain (UK only)

Sunday 18 October WOMENstruate

Sunday 25 October Every Last Child (UK only)

Sunday 01 November El Susto

Sunday 08 November Human Nature (screening not available in North America)

Sunday 15 November Resilience (UK only)

Sunday 22 November Ping Pong (UK only)

Coming up next:


Sunday 29 November 5B

Categories: GHF Classics
Global Health Film is registered in England and Wales under charity number 1179829 and company number 10436509. Registered address: 10 Queen Street Place, London, EC4R 1BE
Log in | Powered by White Fuse